As Fluffy as a Cloud…

(My project to document my observations of past bakes)

As my grandparents-in-law require soft foods, I was racking my brains what baked goodies were suitable for them. As I was surfing the internet for ideas, I thought, “Why not cupcakes – they are likely to be soft and being small makes it easier for the grandparents to eat?”

With that thought in mind, I looked for cupcake recipes to try. This lemon cream cheese cupcake was not my first choice. I tried another one, but it turned dry and dense after a day. I needed something that could keep soft and fluffy for at least a day when I bring the cupcakes to Malaysia. More about that cupcake in another post.

The lemon cream cheese cupake is from Betty Saw’s book “Tempt Cupcakes to Excite” and is posted on the net by various bloggers. I’m glad that the texture remained soft and fluffy even after a day! Also, I think the taste is good – full of lemony and creamy goodness. However, the sides and bottoms browned too fast – looks burnt, but doesn’t taste burnt (phew!). Think that’s because my mini muffin tin was the non-stick, black version. I will bake at a reduced temperature of 160 deg C to overcome this. Also, I will fill the muffin tins to about ½ to 2/3, so that the cupcakes will not rise over the paper cases and become too brown….

On another occasion, I varied with orange, but I think lemon is the best!

I present to you lemony goodness on a cloud…

2 Comments

  1. Eunice said,

    5 April 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Hi there! These look like LOVELY bakes. Got here from KCnet! I’m actually interested in the size of your cupcake cup! Where did you get those from? I can only find bite sized ones, like really tiny =( Or do they get bigger when you bake in them? 🙂

    Hope you can let me know! Thanks!

  2. callavalley said,

    6 April 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Hi Eunice! Thanks for visiting my blog and your compliments. These are really the tiny ones…the bite sized types. I zoomed in when I took the pictures, perhaps that’s why you thought it could be a “unique” size…

    Rgds
    Calla


Leave a Reply

