Tuesdays with Dorie – Pfefferneusse (Dec-16)

This is the first time I’m baking along with a group….and it’s been great fun: I now have motivation to bake based on recipes in a great cookbook, as opposed to just eyeing the beautiful pictures in the cookbook….lol…

pfefferneusse

Anyway, here’s the first bake from Dorie’s Cookies: Pfefferneusse.  I’ve never eaten this cookie before and therefore wasn’t sure about the correct texture to achieve.  Dorie says it’s dry and firm – so does it mean it’s crumbly and firm or crunchy/crispy and firm?  I asked my best friend, Mr Google, for more information, but didn’t find anything conclusive….

I baked the cookies for 20 min at 175 degree Celsius and they definitely turned out dry and firm, and crumbly as well, but nonetheless very delicious.  I’m not a fan of spiced stuff, but these cookies grew on me 🙂

I will be happy to hear what texture fellow bakers have achieved with this cookie and recipe 🙂

12 Comments

  1. Hindy said,

    7 December 2016 at 12:38 am

    Congrats on your first bake! They look delicious! Definitely a cookie to go with a cup of tea, or something to dunk in.

    • callavalley said,

      7 December 2016 at 2:48 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement! 😊

  2. awarmhello said,

    7 December 2016 at 1:10 am

    I love your photo and your cookies look great!

    • callavalley said,

      7 December 2016 at 2:48 pm

      Thanks! 😊

  3. Peggy said,

    7 December 2016 at 5:26 am

    You will love cooking with this group! And how could we not love all these cookies! I enjoyed the pfefferneusse. Yours look perfectly wonderful!

    • callavalley said,

      7 December 2016 at 2:49 pm

      Oh yes, cookies are my favourite, especially choc chip cookies…..

  4. Kayte said,

    7 December 2016 at 8:52 am

    Baking with a group is how I got started baking (the first TWD Baking From My Home to Yours) and it was such fun and I learned so much! Dorie’s recipes are so great as anyone can make them, truly. Your cookies look wonderful. It will be fun to bake with you in this group.

    • callavalley said,

      7 December 2016 at 2:51 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement! 😊 I look forward to future bakes with the group too. And yes, Dorie’s recipes are fantastic: so far I’ve tried 3 cookie recipes from her and they’ve turned out fabulous 😊

  5. 7 December 2016 at 11:20 pm

    Lovely cookies! This is the first time I’ve tried pfefferneusse too, don’t even know how to pronounce it! These cookies kinda of grow on you, I like it better on the second and third cookies, and very nice with a cup of warm tea!

  6. Diane Zwang said,

    8 December 2016 at 3:03 am

    It is fun cooking in a group. You end baking things you otherwise wouldn’t try. It is also nice to read reviews of the cookies before you bake them.

    • callavalley said,

      11 December 2016 at 10:55 am

      Oh yes! I’m looking forward to future bakes with the group 🙂

  7. 8 December 2016 at 12:52 pm

    Beautiful shot of the cookies. Nicely done. My cookies turned out firm and crunchy.


Leave a Reply

